breakfast / wine and cheese party

DISCLAIMER: I’ve had 5 glasses of wine, so this entry may not make any sense. I’m also proud to say that I was able to edit all of these images AND upload them. 🙂


This morning, we made breakfast and watched a blank teevee screen as our cable was broken. After deciding a yard sale wouldn’t happen in the afternoon, we decided to have an impromptu wine & cheese party.


We toured Europe with our cheese: Pere Brie, Danish blue, English Cotswald, Irish Aged Cheddar, Rembrandt Aged Gouda, and La Roule cow’s milk with herbs. Also in our spread were apples, pears, black mission figs, jumbo Turkish apricots and fresh blackberries. I also arranged assortment of crackers, poivre moulu dry salami and black pepper wild herring on the side.

I bought everything from Henry’s market. I was really surprised at how little my bill was. But anyway, I digress.


Along with our tasty treats, Ron brought over 4 bottles of wine. Ohh yeah.

I’m no wine connaisseur, I’ve only been to a few tastings, and no matter how hard I try, I can’t understand or fathom how some people can taste a wine and tell me it tastes like strawberries, blackberries, almonds, etc etc. Most of the time, when I taste wine, I taste spice, wood, moss, earth, and pepper.


I enjoyed this wine a lot. I definitely could taste fruit in the initial notes, but then it was more heavy and earthy. I enjoyed my first glass, and when I had another, I thought it had soured a bit from my first glass. It dropped from #1 to #2 after I had the Rioja.


This, was not my favourite. Although I still prefer it over the chardonnay. Much spicier than the shiraz, I drank this without really getting into it.


Chardonnay is not my thing. Crisp, but too light for me.


I had a Rioja in Portland with Emily that I really enjoyed so I was looking forward to this. This Tempranillo tasted even better after chilled a bit. I enjoyed 2 glasses and really after all that cheese and wine, I couldn’t taste anything anymore.

Kim finished off the night with a small plate of candied yams for us. OUCH!! So good.

We’ll have to do this again and invite more people over.

reply