A Day of Eats with LeiLei

20120716-222251.jpg

My friends spoil me every year for my birthday. This past Sunday, Leilei took me on an OC eat fest.

For lunch, we went to Bruxië and had waffle sandwiches. Before you get nuts, the waffles are light and airy and toasted perfectly. Or baked. Whatever it is, it is crunchtastic. We chose roasted mushroom with goat cheese. Combo of deliciousness right there!! Plus the arugula? Oh my word. That made for a quick and easy bite before we braved the many aisles of Daiso.

After hours of shopping, we ducked into Nordstrom’s Cafe Bistro for a bit of girl talk and a strawberry shortcake. Can you say fresh whipped cream kicks my ass? That thing was delectable sweet and light but buttery. What am I talking about? I have no idea. Just eat it if you have the opportunity.

Look at its beauty!

20120716-222759.jpg

Last but not least, we had dinner at Umami Burger. Yes I know. I have heard all of the hype and I went in with lowered expectations to avoid potential disappointment but it turns out that was unnecessary.

Umami (or ooooh mommy as my brother-in-law has nicknamed it) delivered the goods.

20120716-223108.jpg

I had the house burger – hello Parmesan crisp! And Leilei had the ahi burger. Both were cooked just right and paired with their sweet potato fries? We were in eaters’ bliss. The quartet of dipping sauces – yes I just said that – was also fantastic. Their house ketchup is addictive. The only one I couldn’t handle was the diablo. Fire in your face. But in the best way possible.

Thanks to Leilei for yet another gastronomical adventure day!

reply

