Kale & Quinoa

20120528-222905.jpg

I’ve been eating a lot of quinoa lately. Ever since trying it years ago in Portland, I was hoping to become better at preparing and incorporating quinoa into my diet. My first time, I bought a packaged box of quinoa, cooked the whole box, ended up with an entire potful that I eventually tossed because it wasn’t cooked properly and I was so sick of eating it.

I stayed away from quinoa until it started showing up in all kinds of salads at Whole Foods and I was seeing it used more and more in restaurants. Becoming more familiar with its versatility is what drove me to try cooking it again.

A couple of weeks ago, I visited the bulk section of WF and bought about three cups of royal red quinoa. I came home, found a recipe and set out making my first batch since 2009.

It came out perfect.

Since then I’ve made two more batches which I’ve used in salads and have eaten as a substitute for oatmeal. My love for quinoa has been reinstated.

Today’s salad:
curly kale – cut into small pieces with kitchen shears
half cup of cooked royal red quinoa
halved grape tomatoes
sliced sweet peppers
homemade lemon vinaigrette
– juice from 1 lemon
– 2 tbs olive oil
– 3 tsp smoked sea salt
– dash of chipotle seasoning
– pinch of sugar

I tossed the salad with the dressing, topped it with fresh chèvre and half a bunch of kale made enough salad for two people.

Definitely going to be experimenting a lot this summer. Next, I want to try beets!

reply

