baked parsnips

I didn’t know exactly what a parsnip was until a couple of weeks ago. While perusing the Gardener’s Guide, I came upon a photo and description of the root and decided I was going to try and cook them soon. I bought three parsnips from the market and  hesitated to buy more because I didn’t know how I was going to prepare them and they looked kind of puny.

My first thought was parsnip puree since I have heard of people doing that.. but after peeling and cutting the parsnips, I thought it best to bake them. Sort of like sweet potato fries. I plucked a sprig of rosemary from the garden (held back on using thyme even though it’s been my go-to herb lately) and grated the rest of my parmesan. I cored the parsnips because the inside was so hard and woody. I wasn’t sure how that part would cook. It wasn’t easy to do this because I wasn’t sure if I should cut it out completely or just remove the most central core. I ended up just taking off most of the core.

I placed the parsnips on a baking sheet covered with foil, doused them with olive oil, seasoned with sea salt, cracked pepper, sprinkled parmesan and fresh chopped rosemary on top.

Baked for about 35 minutes and made a garlic aioli for dipping. First taste tester’s verdict: pretty tasty! Woohoo!

BAKED PARSNIPS (serves 2-3)

ingredients:

  • 3 parsnips
  • 1 sprig of fresh rosemary
  • sea salt and cracked pepper to taste
  • olive oil
  • 1/4 cup of grated parmesan

directions:

  1. preheat oven to 375°
  2. peel parsnips, cut and remove core if it’s looking pretty hard and woody
  3. cut into sections suitable for quick munching
  4. line baking sheet with foil
  5. chop rosemary
  6. lay parsnips on baking sheet, drizzle olive oil
  7. season with s&p
  8. sprinkle grated parmesan and rosemary on top
  9. pop in oven for about 35 minutes

Serve with your favourite dipping sauce!

GARLIC AIOLI SAUCE

ingredients:

  • 5 cloves of garlic (I like mine super garlicky)
  • juice of half a lemon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tbs of yellow mustard
  • 1/4 cup of olive oil

tool:

  • blender

directions:

  1. place cloves of garlic in blender, pulse a few times
  2. add egg yolks, mustard and lemon juice, blend until mixed
  3. add salt
  4. slowly drizzle in olive oil while blender is mixing
  5. mixture should start getting thicker
  6. keep adding oil until desired consistency is achieved
  7. mix will settle and thicken after you take it out of the blender
reply

