simple tomato sauce

I am going to remember this day for its good eats and good company.

After reading about this sauce on Jen’s blog and then reading about it again on Smitten Kitchen, I just had to try it. I am a total sucker for anything made with tomatoes and I’ve been craving pasta for a few days. I thought it’d be the perfect simple meal to make while Leilei and I hung out.

TOMATO SAUCE

ingredients:

  • 28 oz. can of peeled tomatoes
  • half of a yellow onion
  • 5 tbs of butter

directions:

  1. put onion, tomatoes and butter in a large saucepan
  2. bring to simmer, stir occasionally and smash tomatoes
  3. let simmer for 45 minutes
  4. remove onion and serve (I added a pinch of sea salt)

SKEPTICAL AND SUSPECT. Those were two things I was thinking as I was making this. How can these three ingredients provide me with a good tomato sauce? As everything was cooking together, I started smelling the tomatoes cooking down and the onion and the butter and I thought – Wow, this might actually be really good.

And it was. As the first forkful touched my tongue, I knew it was going to be love. That irrefutably fresh tomato taste made my salivary glands go nuts. The sauce was tart, but savory, and had such depth from the butter. Why would I ever want another tomato sauce ever again? Forget the basil and mushrooms and overload of veggies. Just give me THIS. We enjoyed it so much we had to cut more bread so we could dip our slices into the leftover sauce in our bowls.

This sauce is the real deal. I am so glad I bought two cans of tomatoes because I am making this AGAIN tomorrow!!

reply

