muffin tops

Leilei came over for some down time. We went grocery shopping and I set out to make three things today. Whole wheat apple muffins, pesto and that pasta sauce I’ve been reading about all over the place!

I bought a bag of whole wheat flour a while back when I was making zucchini bread. I thought whole wheat flour has to be better than unbleached all purpose flour.. and I have to say, everything that I’ve made using this flour has been really great. I loved making the rosemary flatbread using wheat flour.

Smitten Kitchen posted a recipe she modified from King Arthur flour’s recipe for apple muffins. I have loved everything I have made from her recipes, so decided to give this one a try today!

WHOLE WHEAT APPLE MUFFINS

ingredients:

  • 1 cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup of unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbs cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup of butter (1 stick)
  • 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar
  • 2 whole apples (peeled and chopped)
  • 1 cup of yogurt
  • 1 large egg

directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450°
  2. Mix both flours, sugar, baking soda and baking powder in bowl
  3. Cream butter with cinnamon and 1/4 cup of brown sugar
  4. Mix in cup of yogurt and beaten egg
  5. Beat in dry ingredients (mixture will be pretty thick)
  6. Fold in chopped apples
  7. Spoon into muffin tin
  8. Sprinkle remaining 1/4 cup of dark brown sugar on top of muffins
  9. Bake at 450° for 10 minutes, lower heat to 400° and bake for another 8 minutes

I was apprehensive about these muffins because the batter was SO thick, but everything came out really nice. I love how the apples stayed moist. The crunchy brown sugar topping was really nice too. I will be making another batch of these very soon.

reply

