christmas EVE!

I remember, when I was a kid, Christmas eve was the day I tried to convince my parents to let me open one gift. I’d try all sorts of tactics. Peeling back wrapping paper where I could tape it back, shaking boxes, reverse psychology.. but my parents were always willing to let us open one gift. This Christmas even, I woke up, drove to yoga, almost barfed, came home, thought about food, took a half hour nap instead, woke up and had the exact same lunch I had yesterday.

Dangit. I’m a creature of habit. I’ve said this again and again. If I eat something that I like, I will most likely eat it again and again until I run out of it, I get bored, or I found something new that I like to eat. I think last year, around Spring, I was eating ramen everyday. (o_o)

After eating and watching the Deadliest Catch marathon, I went about doing all the things I was supposed to do today. Make olive tapenade, creamed mushrooms and more macaroons.

ARTICHOKE OLIVE TAPENADE

ingredients

  1. 1 jar of marinated artichoke hearts
  2. 1 cup of green pitted olives (I used ones with pimento inside)
  3. 1 tbs of rinsed capers
  4. 1/4 cup of olive oil
  5. 1 clove of garlic

directions

  • combine all ingredients in food processor and … process!

Talk about easy right? But.. it was an ultimate FAIL. So effin’ salty! [insert squinched sad face here] I failed to rinse the capers. I think next time, if I want something as briny as the ocean, I should use anchovies. Instead of capers. Or both, but rinsed. Oh well.. maybe I can feed it to the guests tomorrow. HAAHA!

CREAMED MUSHROOMS

ingredients

  1. 1 lb of mushrooms – I used shiitake, you can use morels, creminis, or any other wild mushrooms of your preference
  2. 3 large shallots
  3. 4 tbs of butter
  4. 4 tbs of white wine
  5. 1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream
  6. salt and pepper to taste

directions

  • melt butter in skillet
  • saute shallots in butter for 2 minutes or until soft
  • add mushrooms and cook for 5 minutes
  • reduce heat, add white wine, cover and cook for another 5 minutes
  • uncover and cook until liquid is mostly absorbed
  • add cream and simmer
  • remove from heat and season with salt and pepper

Holy cow. This stuff is so so so so good. I want to eat it with everything. Pasta, steak, bread. Mmmm!

One thought on “christmas EVE!

reply

